Understanding Full Publish

A Full Publish ensures that site navigation, link relationships and folder structures are updated. It is important to run periodic full publishes even if other publishing options are more attractive due to speed and resource requirements as it is the only operation that updates these changes on your web server.

There are some specific circumstances in which a full publish is needed:

  • Folder path changes or navigation changes do not queue items for incremental publish
  • Changes to page name require a full publish in order to update links pointing to the changed page 
  • If a shared image asset is inserted into a rich text asset/widget, and then the image is updated, the rich text asset and pages using it are not queued for incremental publish. 
  • Changes to image and file assets will not queue pages with autolists that would select these assets. These auto-list widgets are not dynamic, so they will not update until the page is published.
  • Changes to template layout or style will not queue pages using the template. However, if edits are made to template content, then the pages will be queued
  • Archiving or deleting items are not queued for incremental publish

 To run a Full Publish, use the following steps:

  • From the Navigation Bar select Publish
  • Double-click on your site to open the Servers tab
  • Select the Publishing Server
  • Click the Full Publish button

Note: Apart from the first time a Full Publish is performed on a site, the Publish button will appear as a split button and you must select the drop-down arrow to access the Full Publish option.

Full-Incremental Publish

Leave a comment

*
*