Editing a Page

Editing Content on a Page

You can modify the content in widgets on any page that you have access to. The template will control which sections of the page you have access to edit. You can open any page in the CMS, but you must have the appropriate permissions in order to edit it.  

  • If a widget has a lock icon on it, it is unavailable for edit. The lock indicates that the widget has inherited content from the associated template. The content can be edited if you click Actions - Edit Template.
  • If a widget has a disabled pencil icon, you cannot edit it. The disabled pencil icon indicates that the widget cannot contain user-added content (such as the Navigation widget).
  • If a widget is in a workflow state that you do not have access to, when you attempt to edit it, a dialog warns you that you do not have edit permission.

To edit content on a page:

  1. If you are using the Finder, double click the page you want edit. If you are using the Home Screen, just click Open when hovering over the page you want to edit.
  2. Click the Content tab.
  3. Either modify the content through the widget editor, or drag and drop an asset onto the existing content. 

Modifying Content through a Widget Editor

You can edit a widget's content through its widget editor if it displays an enabled edit icon. 

  • If any of the data you have entered is invalid, a message describing the cause of the error appears on the editor, and you must correct the error before you can save the changes.
  • If all of the data you have entered is valid, CM1 saves the modified content on the page or template and closes the widget editor.
  • If you modify local content on a page, the content changes on that page only. If you modify local content on a template, the content changes on the template and every page that uses the template.
  • If the content that you modify on a template or page is an asset, the content changes in every widget that includes the asset.
  • If your edit includes modifying or uploading a new binary file, the binary file in the existing asset changes, but a new asset is not created. Every page or template that contains the binary asset now displays the new binary data.

Leave a comment

*
*