Managing Form Submissions

The Forms Tracker gadget on the Admin Dashboard displays information about all forms on your site or sites, as well as statistics about data that was submitted through these forms. Through the gadget, you can perform the following tasks for each form:

  • edit or preview the form asset
  • export data that site visitors have submitted through the form (form data) to an external file
  • clear form data that you have exported

For each form used in the the form gadget displays the number of new submissions (form data that you have not exported yet through the Export menu option) and Total forms.  The Forms Tracker gadget lists a form only when the form has data associated with it. 

Editing a Form Asset

To edit a form asset, click the arrow in the Action column for the listed form and choose Open from the menu.

Note that the gadget does not display the Open option for a form under these circumstances:

  • the form has been deleted from the system but data still exists for the form
  • the form is in an archived state 

Previewing the Form Asset

To preview a form asset, click the arrow in the Action column for the listed form and choose Preview from the menu. 

Note that the gadget does not display the Preview option for a form under these circumstances:

  • the form has been deleted from the system but data still exists for the form
  • the form is in an archived state

Exporting Data Submitted Through a Form

To send all new and uncleared data for a form to a file, click the arrow in the Action column for the listed form and choose Export. The export file is a CSV file.

Note: The Export option can accommodate multiple versions of a form. For example, a form may be re-published with a different number of columns than a previous version of the form. In this instance, the gadget will export data in a "merged" format to show all columns that exist or existed at one time.

Removing Data Submitted Through a Form

Use the "Clear" option to delete all form data that you have successfully exported using the "Export" option. Click the arrow in the Action column for the listed form and choose Clear from the menu. You will be prompted with a confirmation dialog to allow canceling the operation.

Before you clear form data, ensure that you have saved the file that you created by using the "Export" option. Otherwise you will lose the only record of the data submitted through the form.

Note:

If you clear all data associated with a custom form, the Forms Tracker gadget stops displaying the form until a user submits more data through the form.

Leave a comment

*
*